Dovetails Set 1: 20:56

Image

Set 1 of my Dovetail Challenge was completed in 20:56. So, as a dovetailer I am fat, lazy and out of practice.  The 10 mm thick Prunus avium stock was flat and square before I started. I cut tails first and used a Lie Nielsen dovetail marker (how decadent of me daaaahlings, I know, I know..) I used my Lie Nielsen gent’s handle, rip cut dovetail saw (long since out of production) and my Narex 8105 chisels (suitably hot rodded by grinding down the bevel a little so they don’t bruise the internal corners when chopping out.

I need to be more economical in my movements, keep my tools in order but chiefly not let the cat sit on my 6 mm chisel I think…

That should work.

– Paul Mayon

Leave a Reply

