Jumpin’ Jack Flash

Image

I thought of titling this post ‘Why you don’t need a planer thicknesser or a gym membership’ but it didn’t seem quite as snappy. I spent the majority of the day getting stock to thickness traversing boards with my trusty L-N 5 1/2 jack.  No sane professional would do this as sane professionals own a planer-thicknesser and have a gym membership.  Do I need to workout? Nope.  Traversing with my jack and then taking passes lengthways using the freight train that is my L-N No.8 Jointer (weighing in at 4.54 kg or 10 lbs for those of an imperial persuasion) is workout enough for a couple of hours.

 Image       Image

I blame myself: I insisted on buying rough sawn stock from the affable David and Andy at Interesting Timbers in Radstock near Bath.  I first broke it down last weekend with my big, nasty Disston D8 (note: no beard, no check shirt…).  I had picked up the Cherry for this box and had also spied some really lovely Elm lying unloved at the bottom of a stack. It is worth the trip as David really does always have something worth having.  I just don’t drive a truck big enough…

Back to the box: taking the sides to size was reasonable enough (as you have sen these are already completed) as I was going from 25 mm (1″) thick stock down to 19 mm (3/4″) but, the top and bottom of the box needed to be much thinner: 10 mm for the bottom, 9 mm for the top.

I set my jack for a very heavy cut across the board and this was the result: really chunky shavings. The board thickness came down very quickly thanks to the blade setting and by keeping the sole well waxed (you do wax your sole don’t you?).  I made sure to use my little block plane to keep a chamfer on the long edges to prevent spelching and to regularly rotate the board as it is easy to take more of the far edge than the near one.

ImageImageImage

Next I will be cutting the grooves for the lid and the base to sit in. Back to making some goulash with Debrenecer sausage…

– Paul Mayon

2 thoughts on “Jumpin’ Jack Flash

  1. I tend to favor sawing if I have to plane more than 1/4 inch off a wide board. I think it ends up easier in the long run.

    • Very true – sawing can work very well – but you would be surprised at how quick the thickness came down tho’ – maybe 1/16″ thickness shavings on each pass due to the severely cambered blade. I have never had the results I really wanted from re-sawing using a hand saw.

Leave a Reply

